Fitness Pros: New E-mail Scam!

DontGetScammed

Don’t get scammed by the newest rip-off artists.

Apparently these guys won’t quit trying to steal money. First it was general public emails and now they are targeting personal trainers and fitness professionals. The newest scam asks you to take payment for personal training by credit card. However, this is done through email or text because they are hearing impaired or they’re traveling abroad and they can’t meet with you in person. And the training is not for them, it’s for their children (usually early teens). Oh, (AND HERE’S THE SCAM), they will be taking a car service to your location and they have to pay the driver, but the driver only accepts cash payment.  So, the person pay you an extra $1,050 on the credit card and asks you to pay the driver $1,050 in CASH.

You’ve got to be kidding me! How stupid do you think I am? I’m not even getting into the detail of how exactly you get screwed, but you’ll be out $815.00 in cash (in this example) if you do this. The credit card payment will be pulled back and you’ll have a firm grip on an empty sack.

Need details? Ask me, but you don’t really need them. The following is an email exchange I had with one of these pricks. After the last exchange I never heard another peep from this guy. Notice the poor grammar and spelling errors:

Him: “Hi Im Robert i need a personal trainer for my 2 daughters they have been adding much weight lately and i believe with a trainer like you they can achieve a good and healthy body so i like to know if there any in-person training or exercise you can offer for the ladies I’m booking this on there behalf and as a surprise they are 19-22 I’m hearing impaired so we can only do text/email I only have my credit card, do you have a card reader to charge my credit card?”

Me: “I’m happy to help your daugthers. We can meet in person to discuss. I am trained in ASL and have no trouble communicating with hearing impaired.”

Him: “Thank you for your responds, as i have stated before I’m booking this on there behalf and this a surprise to them so lets do the booking and payment they are medically and physically OK no injuries or surgeries they want to lose weight and get in better shape i read about you on social media so let me have your best packages/deals, they will be training together and will be coming to you 3x a week for the session we can start with 15 session in total for both of them. I do understand consultation is important and the paperworks(waivers and liability forms) but as I have stated before this a surprise to the ladies so lets do the booking and the payments and on the first session/introduction the consultation would be done I would only be able to give you the card information manually to charge on your card reader all paperworks will be done by the girls on there first session.”

Me: “I will have forms available for your 2 daughters to sign on thier first session. Price for 15 sessions for 2 people working out together (partner training for one 1 hour workout) is $xxx.xx per session – total for 15 sessions is $xxxx.xx. Price for 15 sessions for 2 people working out individually (individual training 1 hour each, total 2 one hour sessions) is $xx.xx per session per person – total for 15 sessions  of $xxxx.xx
When would you lie the first session?”

Him: I’m OK with the price I will like to make the full payment with my credit card I would have paid the driver already but they don’t accept credit card except cash so I will like you to add an extra $1050 to the total cost the extra $1050 is for the charter bus driver that will be bringing the girls for the training and once the charges clears you will have the $1050 deposited to the charter bus bank account.” 
– I’m thinking: “Are you friggin kidding me? Ok, wise-guy, try this one…” –
Me: “The card needs to be with a bank in the U.S.. I would require bank name from which the credit card is issued, name on card, full postal mailing address for which the credit card is registered, expiration date, and cvv code on back of card. I will run the card once your daughters complete their first session and sign the necessary agreements. The driver will be paid after that time. 

When do you want your first session?”

Silence…

 

7 thoughts on “Fitness Pros: New E-mail Scam!

  1. Simone

    Just got this email, the bad English ( and English is my second language) made me think it was wrong. Last email I said he needed to come to run the CC and have an ID with him and sign paper, no answer yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. outrunyourfork Post author

      Thanks for the follow up Simone! I’m glad you didn’t fall prey to this scam. There are some crazy scams out there. I’m pretty sure you won’t hear back from them.

      Have you had any other attempted scams? I used to get an email from a person asking to help expedite an international wire transfer. They were offering to pay me 10x what I sent them. Another one needed to expedite payment for a major surgery for their daughter. This one was from a friend’s email address and was really heart-felt. I actually felt bad ignoring it, but come to find out that someone hacked my friends email address!

      Like

      Reply
      1. outrunyourfork Post author

        Yes, I get emails and phone calls every so often. Same wire transfer like you. Or emails stating that my credit card has been stolen and I have to “click here” within 24 hours in order to avoid being responsible for these and subsequent charges. Lots of them. These SOB’s are pretty crafty.

        Always trust your instincts.

        Like

  2. Ash

    So I received an email sort of like this one, through the TRX website, from an Amy Johnson. Please note that my TRX profile was not updated nor did I have a photo and there are other trainers in the area that had full profiles with a photo.

    Similarity with yours, the English was off and she says she will be in town during her sabatical.

    In a few of her replies she has disregarded my request to call her and then my request for availability. Instead she discussed her fitness level and what equipment she wanted to use etc etc, which if she’s at the level she says she is I question her need for a ten week program . I emailed her again asking for availability and letting her know the package costs and she answers but in again broken English and asks for the address on where to remit payment.

    I’m very skeptical about this “potential” client seeing as she left no phone number nor did she ask what area of the big city I’m in, etc.

    I recently updated my TRX profile and she emailed me the same introductory email but to my business address…

    I don’t know if I should ask for the payment information and tentatively schedule or just stop replying.

    Like

    Reply
  3. GeBo

    Now they are coming in as text messages. I just received it yesterday. I thought it was totally obvious. Similar to the Microsoft phone scams. These guys always want you to get more to help sweeten the pot. He has it quoted for 6 clients. He did give me names I have them booked. But I asked him for their email address so I can send them the liability form to be Docusigned. ^_~ Keep your business safe from scams and never take more than the services you offer. If he can’t pay the driver that’s his problem not yours. You are in a business of training, not money laundering and paying driver services. Thanks for posting this. It’s nice to be able to share and help educate.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

